close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Carrying in Public School (K-12)

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by light-switch, Apr 5, 2010.

1. light-switch

light-switch

Sorry if this was already answered: I did a search and came up with nothing related.

I'm a high school teacher, and have a PA concealed carry permit (LTCF). I was reading the US Code Title 18,922 where it says

"(q)
    (2)
    (A) It shall be unlawful for any individual knowingly to possess a firearm that has moved in or that otherwise affects interstate or foreign commerce at a place that the individual knows, or has reasonable cause to believe, is a school zone.
    (B) Subparagraph (A) does not apply to the possession of a firearm— (i) on private property not part of school grounds;
    (ii) if the individual possessing the firearm is licensed to do so by the State in which the school zone is located or a political subdivision of the State, and the law of the State or political subdivision requires that, before an individual obtains such a license, the law enforcement authorities of the State or political subdivision verify that the individual is qualified under law to receive the license;"

It sounds like I can legally carry concealed into the school building? I always thought public schools were gun-free zones since the Columbine shooting?

Thanks.

2. Critias

Critias Freelancer CLM

I'd check for city or county laws that may supercede that.

I'd also check an employee handbook, just to be aware of what may or may not happen to you, professionally, if your firearm comes to light.

3. OD Green Glock 19

OD Green Glock 19

check the state law

here: http://www.handgunlaw.us/

Places Off Off-Limits Even With A Permit/License

Court Houses

Elementary and Secondary Education Schools

Title 18 Section 913

Possession of firearm or other dangerous weapon in court facility.

(a) Offense defined.--A person commits an offense if he: