close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Carrying as a non-immigrant alien

Discussion in 'Carry Issues' started by BritStudent, Jan 4, 2010.

1. BritStudent

BritStudent

Hi,

First some background. I've just turned 21, and I'm a British student at a university here in the UK. I finish my degree next year and I'm planning on coming to the US to do my Phd and eventually get a green card and stay there permanently. There's many reasons I want to study in the US, and many reasons I'd like to move, but one of them is that I believe in the right to defend one's self and in the United States people enjoy the right to carry the tools to defend themselves if, god forbid, they should need to. A luxury I do not enjoy in my own country but would like to share.

I'm looking at universities in several states, but one of the most likely spots for me to touch down is Duke in Durham, North Carolina, so I'll use this as a sort of example, but I'd also like information on other states with schools I'm looking at such as CT, RI, NY, NJ, PA, MI, MN, OH and VA. A Phd course takes 5 years usually, so I'll be there a while. I can't get a green card until I can get an offer of long term employment in a skilled or professional job, which means finishing my Phd. So for those 5 years I'll be a non-immigrant on an F1 student visa.

Now I've been told that only citizens and immigrants (i.e. green card holders) can own guns at all, let alone get CCW permits. This comes from the Federal law:

Note the exemption for subsection (y)(2). That section reads:

So, if a non-immigrant has a US hunting license, he can own guns. The North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission website says re: hunting licenses:

So, as far as I can tell, I can get a hunting license, legally own firearms and, since NC has no law against it, carry them openly. However, while that's all good to know, I'd much rather carry concealed if possible.