close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Carry your children hunting & fishing

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by MKII, Dec 22, 2002.

1. MKII

MKII

I have been carrying my son and daughter fishing since they were 4 years old and they love it and thank me every time we go. And before someone asks yes they both are excellent swimmers. My son recently turned 9 and has expressed interest in going with me win I go shooting and hunting at our family farm. So I have started carrying him. I enjoy the sport more than ever. I see him and the enthusiasm and eagerness to learn. It has given me a different feel or should I resparked my interest for the outdoors entirely. He has learned so much from me at home that I did not realize and his respect for the environment was to say the least impressive since we have been going out learning the basics in safety/marksmanship. We owe our children the opportunity to be exposed to the outdooors and what it has to offer so carry those kids and train them right and be responsible. Don't rely on the neighbor or god forbid someone they don't know. The spirit of the wild is alive and well!!!!!:)

2. Jazz5

Jazz5

Amen MkII! I've been taking my son(now 6) fishing since he could walk! This summer he hooked AND LANDED a 21.5" Largemouth Bass. The smile was priceless and took forever to wear off! I have mounted the fish and am going to present it to him Christmas day.
    He has taken an interest in shooting with me as well. I have some land with a pistol range and he is doing quite well with the .22 pistol. For safety's sake I only load one round at a time and watch him like a hawk for safety violations!
    He has shot my G27 and has no fear of recoil, but the trigger is a bit of a reach for him.
    Now, my youngest son, thats a different story! I can't keep him out of the pond long enough to wet a hook! Got some work to do on that one!