Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
In a few weeks I'm having surgery on my left wrist (non dominant) for carpal tunnel. Was wondering if anyone had any experience with recovery. The internet varies but seems to be a month minimum. Mind you this is the same internet who's answer to "what's this strange smell coming from my furnace?" was "you have a brain tumor!" :lol:

On the opposite end is the surgeon, who says I should be fine to go back to work in less than a week.

Pharmacy isn't the most physically denanding job, but leaving out the "carry heavy crap from point a to point b" things I do almost daily...the main parts of the job are typing a lot, and twisting open bottles - a lot. Side note...WHY do stock bottles, even bulk size ones, come with childproof caps???

·
Registered
3,327 Posts
My doc told me 6 weeks. However that is a military doc. I've been putting it off for a few years. Getting to the point I may not be able to put it off to much longer.

·
Registered
1,354 Posts
Didn't have the surgery because my Surgeon asked "are you going to quit doing what caused It? "He said to come back when my job change. Many Surgeons will operate again in a few years when it comes back. He said there is scar tissue from the first surgery and its worse the second time.

·
Registered
3,131 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I can't really figure out what caused it in me. I'd say wear and tear catching up with me, but I'm not THAT old (almost 40). I don't know. Been gaming since I was 7, using computers for work and recreation since 17. Opened a LOT of bottles. Done a lot of crushing and mixing of things for compounding. Not a fitness freak, but have done my share of exercises that put strain on the hands. Shoot of course, but again it's the non dominant hand that has it worse (but I do have it in the right too).