Career change. Photographer to LEO?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by myesque, Oct 19, 2010.

1. myesque

myesque

I am a professional photographer, and have been for 10+ years. My wife and I have recently moved from MI down to TN. This killed my photography business, I work mainly in portrait. There does not seem to be that high of a demand for my type of work here in this surrounding area. I am having a bit of an early mid-life crisis. :faint:
    I have been thinking of making a career change, and considering becoming a LEO. I have always had interest in this profession, but I am wondering if this is poor move? :dunno: One of our local PD's is having a Civil Service Exam next week, and I am going to go and take it.

Can anyone give me some sound advise here? How and what to study (content and what is included in the tests), difficulty levels, physical test and what it involves....

2. Panzergrenadier1979

Panzergrenadier1979 Keystone Cop

Every LEO written test I took was general knowledge material; basic math, language, spelling, deduction....etc. No studying was required; you either new the material or you didn't. The one exception was one PD that hosted an orientation and gave out a study guide to the attendees. The next week we were to come back and be tested on the material we'd studied. Most PDs seem to follow the same basic testing formula, with slight variations here and there.

Start putting together a list of every residence you've ever lived in, every neighbor you can remember, every school you've ever attended (with certified transcripts), every traffic ticket you've ever received and every job you've ever had. You'll need names, addresses and phone number for your former supervisors and teachers. You'll need references, both personal and professional. I'd also put together any certifications and/or awards (Eagle Scout etc) you may have received as a civilian - anything to make you stand out from the hordes of other candidates.