close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

can't get internet connection

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ALLAN, Jun 10, 2005.

  1. ALLAN

    ALLAN

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2003
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DFW
    I am trying to set up connection on my computer. I run the dsl disk and have evrything hooked up correctly(i think). I keep getting the message that the modem is not detected.
    I know it works because it works with my laptop.
    Any ideas on what I can try??
     
  2. pyblood

    pyblood

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mississippi
    How are you hooking up the DSL? Through a Cat5 cable or through USB? What brand modem do you have. Who’s your ISP?

    Go to your device manager (right click on my computer and choose properties. Then click on hardware.) See if you have any hardware that has a question mark or an exclamation point. Make sure to take a look at “network adapters & modems”

    If you are running XP, try to repair your connection. Right click on “My Network Places” and choose properties. Then right click on “Local Area Connection” and choose “repair.”

    Is your PC virus/spyware free?
     

  3. Soujurn

    Soujurn Deus Diligo USA

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2001
    Messages:
    3,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Cruces, N.M.
    Sometimes it helps to unplug your modem from the power supply, not the cat5 cable to the 'puter, for a minute and then plug it back in.
    Usually works.
     
  4. Glock Bob

    Glock Bob Snack Attack!!!

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Alabama
    I was having a similar problem with my cable modem and that fixed it.
     
  5. fastvfr

    fastvfr Ancient Tech

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2001
    Messages:
    2,344
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SW Oregon
    Yep. Cheap modems require frequent power cycling.

    Also make sure that there are no USB power-saving features holding the USB Hardware Detection back. That is somewhat common in laptops.

    Maybe try attaching it via Ethernet to see if that works?