Cannot see pics on 2 websites. What's going on?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by The Pontificator, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. The Pontificator

    The Pontificator Angry Samoan

    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Location:
    Grumpyville
    www.survivalsheath.com

    can only see some pics

    www.smith-wesson.com

    can see no pics.

    I have high-speed cable, XP home ed., and EZ trust firewall.

    Is this a firewall issue?

    Any ideas? Problem is driving me NUTS.
     
  2. pyblood

    pyblood

    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    Location:
    Mississippi

  3. The Pontificator

    The Pontificator Angry Samoan

    Messages:
    4,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Location:
    Grumpyville
    I clear out my cache and cookies on a regular basis.
     
  4. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Ccleaner is good for cleaning files and the registry.If the temp internet files are piling up that will cause problems like that.In Windows 2000 and XP you can usually clear them with Disk Cleanup.

    Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>Disk Cleanup.
    Check all of the boxes.

    In Windows 98 Disk Cleanup does not work properly and Ccleaner is required.
     
  5. Washington D.C.

    Washington D.C.

    Messages:
    5,218
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Location:
    Woestyn Kusdorp
    Are you sure those are normal pictures?It looks like a lot of flash player images on those websites.You might need flash player plugin or change settings for it.
     
  6. JCM298

    JCM298

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2002
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    The Pontificator,

    My computer went crazy a few months ago and all my settings had to be re-set. I got it corrected except for two areas. I could see no photos on the S&W Forum and I could not get to the 1911 Forum.

    I posted my problem and one of the responders suggested checking the Java section. I did, found one box that needed to be checked, did it, and everything has been working fine since then.

    Unfortunately, I have no idea what I did and I don't know how to get into Java. Read this thread and maybe you can fix your problem:

    http://www.glocktalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=435844

    Sorry I can't be of more help. I just checked both forums and I did see the photos,

    John
     
  7. Romadoc

    Romadoc

    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2000
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    I had the same problem. I downloaded "Opera" and use that when Foxfire won't work. An example would be the fact that I use "Upromise" to buy things online as a way to contribute to my grandkids' education. Many online shops (HSN,AMAZON etc.) typically give a 3-5% donation. This won't work with Foxfire but does with Opera. Similarly when trying to run certain video clips.