close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Can i auto sync two drives?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by ricky, Sep 25, 2008.

  1. ricky

    ricky Millennium Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Location:
    Miami, Fl.
    What I am trying to do is have two hard drives that are the same size and exactly alike including the os.

    I want the program (if it exists) to sync both drives so that as you add or subtract on one (main) hard drive it will do the same to the other.

    Is there any other way to do this that I am not aware of?
     
  2. Clyde

    Clyde Lost in KY Millennium Member

    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Location:
    KY
    SyncToy v1.4 - not sure if it would be the ticket for operating system - but I use it to copy Docs and such to a external HDD as backup. The External echo the primary. Can be set up several different ways.


    Full System - take a look at Symantec's Ghost
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2008

  3. ricky

    ricky Millennium Member

    Messages:
    613
    Likes Received:
    18
    Joined:
    May 9, 1999
    Location:
    Miami, Fl.
    I see there is a 2.0 version.

    I guess it boils down to which is best I guess?

    I wanted to make sure if one hard drive takes a dump I can use the other.
     
  4. UtahIrishman

    UtahIrishman BLR Silver Member

    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    1,995
    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Location:
    Utah
    you could also mirror them, but you will need a RAID card for that.
     
  5. d3athp3nguin

    d3athp3nguin

    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
  6. HerrGlock

    HerrGlock Scouts Out CLM

    Messages:
    23,801
    Likes Received:
    254
    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    RAID 1. What you describe is exactly what it's for.
     
  7. Big Al 24

    Big Al 24

    Messages:
    1,244
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2008
    Depending on your hardware, your motherboard might have onboard raid. If it's not ancient it probably does.