Can anyone explain this line of code to me?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by devildog2067, Aug 15, 2007.

1. devildog2067

devildog2067

I'm a physicist, not a computer scientist, so this is absolute Greek to me.

HcalDetId::HcalDetId(HcalSubdetector subdet, int tower_ieta, int tower_iphi, int depth) : DetId(Hcal,subdet) {
    // (no checking at this point!)
    id_ |= ((depth&0x7)<<14) |
    ((tower_ieta>0)?(0x2000|(tower_ieta<<7)):((-tower_ieta)<<7)) |
    (tower_iphi&0x7F);
    }

id_ is of type uint_32 declared in the header for DetId.

Not only do I not really understand what the bitwise shift operator << or the bitwise or/assign operator |= do, I also don't understand the operator precedence.

I know there's some computer scientists here, any help would be appreciated! Thanks.

2. Duncan223

Duncan223 Guest

3. Brown Hawk

Brown Hawk CLM

Off hand, it looks like a C++ object oriented procedure. (There are other possibilities.)

A bitwise shift is moving the bits to the right (>>) or left (<<) that many positions. Depending on the machine and the compilier, the bits are either left as zeros or the moved bits are moved around to the last position. (Probably the former, which is way more common, but I have seen the latter.)

Example of 1: 100111 <<2 is 011100
    Example of 2: 100111 <<2 is 011110

Again offhand, looks like they might be moving some 8 or 16 bit words into 32 bit words and doing some other calcs in one step instead of multiple steps.

Hawk

4. devildog2067

devildog2067

It is, I suppose I should have been a bit more specific in terms of my understanding of the procedure. I do quite a lot of programming but I'm not a programmer; all of my experience is on-the-fly rather than the result of any sort of curriculum. Also, my recent experience has been in FORTRAN so object-oriented isn't all that natural to me.

OK, so with the more specific questions:

depth is an int. Adding the & means address, right? Then 0x7 converts it into a hex value.