close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Buying ammo in IL with out a FOID...

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Kona, Jan 11, 2010.

1. Kona

Kona

I have a question about purchasing handgun ammunition in Illinois. The law says that you MUST have a FOID card in order to purchase ammunition and weapons in the state of Illinois. My family lives in Idaho so I have a Idaho Drivers License and I live in Illinois for college but I cant get a FOID card w/o a Illinois License. Can I drive over to Missouri and purchase my ammunition there with my Idaho license?

2. devildog2067

devildog2067

I think you can purchase ammo in IL with an out-of-state ID. I think the FOID requirement applies only to Illinois residents.

3. kestrou

kestrou Pin Member #4

I am not a lawyer, but that's my understanding too - although you may still have a hard time purchasing because the seller is so used to getting a FOID card number.

kestrou

4. rball

rball

I was born and raised in Illinois and when I was able to get a FOID card, I got one. I had the card until I became a Wisconsin resident. Upon getting my Wisconsin drivers license, I shredded the Illinois FOID card. Since then (approx. since 2002) I have purchased several long guns and ammo in Illinois since I've been Wisconsin resident. When asked if I had a FOID card, I replied, "Nope, I am not an Illinois resident." The salesperson/cashier simply asked if they could see my drivers license and when they saw it wasn't an Illinois license, they still sold the ammo to me. As for the long guns (shotguns/rifles), you can buy them in Illinois and not be a resident of Illinois. If you want to buy a handgun, you will have to travel back to Idaho to buy it.

5. *ASH*

*ASH* FURBANITE

i know nothing about the state but sounds like a crappy *** place to live. glad im in the south lol.

6. 8-Ball

8-Ball Old Soul

For knowing nothing about the state, you sure made quite an accurate comment.

7. raven11

raven11