close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Bushnell 3200 vs Leupold VX-I

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by cruiserman, Aug 28, 2004.

1. cruiserman

cruiserman

I'm going to replace the Weaver 4x scope on my Ruger M77. My budget is ~$200, and I've looked at the Bushnell Elite 3200 and the Leupold VX-I. Both are 3x9-40mm.

The salesguy at Sportsman's recommends the Leupold over the Bushnell. He talked up the "non-critical eye relief", but it didn't seem any different from the Bushnell. The Bushnell seemed to be brighter, and I like the matte finish better, but I have very little experience with scopes.

Which scope is preferred of these 2?

I was interested in the 2x7 Bushnell, but it only comes with 32mm objective, which seems small. The 3x9-50mm seems like it would be too large. I only tried the 40mm scopes.

thx, eric

2. MrGlock21

MrGlock21

I prefer the Leupold. The Bushnell is more likely to fall apart when it gets beaten up in the field. For target shooting only the Elite 3200 is fine.
    Also, you might wanna consider a Burris.

3. muddydog

muddydog

i have 3 - 3200 elites and they have EXCELLENT glass..and have taken some severe punishment.

the VX1 is a low end model...

the 3200 series is a quality scope on par with the VXII and Burris glass. alot more glass than what you'd pay for. clarity is amazing.

my buddies and I played around with several scopes when i bought my first 3200 (1.5x4.5) testing them out at a friends house next to some timber and we all agreed that it was just as clear as my VXII's and my friends VXIII.

the firefly reticles rock...

call chris at SWFA optics..he is a helluva guy and his advice has helped me tremendously in the past on scope issues.

they can fit you with a firefly 3x9x40 for under 200.

leupold is severely cheapening its lowend stuff..anyone look at the reticle adjustments on the new rifleman series.. 1/2 MOA adjustments instead of 1/4...damn.