Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
DFC, MSM, 12 Air Medals.
10,190 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have about 50 lbs of mixed shot that was pulled from loaded shells. The question is it any good for casting bullets, and does it need to be mixed with other lead etc.? Plus I have a ton of wheel weight and more or less pure lead. It has been over 20 + years since I have done any casting.
Thanks.

·
Registered
918 Posts
My rifle alloy ie 2# shot, 2# lead and 1/2# solder and I push gas checked 30 cal bullets 2000 ft/ sec without leading. Look in the Lyman Cast bullet handbook for alloy calculations

·
Registered
3,970 Posts
I'm by no means an expert but I would mix it in with wheel weights at about a 1 part mixed shot to 3 parts wheel weights.
My casting is not an exact science. I mix wheel weights with softer lead and some linotype that I got from a friend. My casts measure about a 12 on my hardness tester. I coat my casts with Hi-Tek coating and shoot them in my pistols for GSSF.

·
Registered
4,882 Posts
I want to say that shot has relatively high antimony and no tin. Definitely good idea to cut it with wheel weights and wouldn’t hurt to throw in a little extra tin. Think I recall reading that shot was kinda nasty to flux/reduce into ingots.

It all depends on what your goals are. Coating gives you a lot more flexibility in the BHN range for any given application.

You’re very lucky to have a bunch of wheel weights. Those are the bread and butter of economical casting, and are getting harder to find.

·
Registered
887 Posts
Do you know what shells they came out of. Quality shot has 6-7% antimony. really cheap shot is mostly pure lead.

·
Registered
7,464 Posts
With the cost of shot, I'd be more inclined to pack it in a USPS flat rate box and sell it or trade it for another lead alloy. It is more valuable in its form as shot than melted down.