close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Brief experience using the steyr m40 pistol

Discussion in 'Band of Glockers' started by theTactician, Jul 16, 2006.

1. theTactician

theTactician

First of all, im not a gun expert, im just a gun enthusiast and a collector. my reviews are based on my own personal experience.
    But before i delve into my experience, let me tell you just a brief history of what i know about the steyr m series pistols. The guy who designed the steyr m series pistol is wilhelm bubits who used to work for glock. he loves handguns and is a hobby shooter. he tried developing a gun which he envisioned himself and attempted to introduce his ideas and innovations to glock but unfortunately, it didnt work out so finally he sold his ideas to steyr mannlicher, an austrian arms maker in 1997. one of the key engineers who helped bubits in developing his gun is friedrich aigner. so after 2 years of developing the weapon, they finally produced the m series line of steyr pistols. it was a pretty good gun according to some experts and as they say, Steyr are well known for their innovative inventions "they go where no gunmakers have gone before".
    i got interested and here's my own personal review.

I went to an indoor shooting range here in hacienda, CA and i saw this Steyr Pistol which caught my eye so i rented it just for the sake of testing the pistol. Rented it for 8 dollars. the pistol was pretty good externally, looks bulky and tough like the HK. Its safeties were also internal like the glock. I shot just a few rounds that day, about a hundred .40 S&W fmj's and although im not a gun expert, i'd just like to share with you my brief experience with this pistol. The pistol has a good recoil (the fact that it's a .40cal), my only comments are the following:
    1. I didnt like the triangular/trapezoid sights. I find it hard to use the sights in quick target acquisitions. pretty much inaccurate.