Home > GlockTalk Forums > Introduction Forum > BRAND NEW to GUN OWNERSHIP

BRAND NEW to GUN OWNERSHIP

1. Hi there,

I am a newbie in every sense of the word. Last week my husband and I bought our first guns. I called a local gun shop and they had 2 new Glocks to sell us. I am the proud owner of a Glock 17 gen 5. I have never fired a gun, or even seen a gun before this. The shop was kind enough to take me to the range and I got to fire my new Glock several times. I am in awe and a bit scared of the power and the responsibility of being a new gun owner. We are going to sign up for classes and spend time on the range. Just wanted to say hi and ask if there was any good advice for first time gun owners. Thanks!

2. Howdy from western Kansas.

Taking classes is a very good first step.

3. Welcome aboard.
    You made a good choice in getting some training. There is a lot to learn!

4. Welcome. Fear of firearms is healthy but don’t be timid with them. Assertive control is necessary to properly operate a handgun. You are a lady, you have been given the natural ability to push whereas men are innate pullers. Use this push tendency to your advantage when manipulating the slide of your Gen. 5 17 to chamber a round. I have taught my wife to bring the handgun in close and parallel to her tummy while pushing in one direction with the top of the slide and pushing in the other direction with her hand on the pistol grip albeit making sure no one or no animal is in the line of fire.

You chose well. A full size pistol is an excellent choice on many levels. For starters, the larger pistols have more mass and abate recoil better than the smaller sub-compact models. Aside from this, we live in perilous times and you do need high capacity magazines or as we in the 2A community call them, standard capacity magazines with the mindset being states and municipalities that restrict magazine capacity are an anathema to our God-given right to self-defense as enumerated in our constitution.