BRAND NEW to GUN OWNERSHIP

Discussion in 'Introduction Forum' started by NewtoGlock17, Sep 21, 2020.

1. NewtoGlock17

NewtoGlock17

Hi there,

I am a newbie in every sense of the word. Last week my husband and I bought our first guns. I called a local gun shop and they had 2 new Glocks to sell us. I am the proud owner of a Glock 17 gen 5. I have never fired a gun, or even seen a gun before this. The shop was kind enough to take me to the range and I got to fire my new Glock several times. I am in awe and a bit scared of the power and the responsibility of being a new gun owner. We are going to sign up for classes and spend time on the range. Just wanted to say hi and ask if there was any good advice for first time gun owners. Thanks!

2. flyover

flyover

Howdy from western Kansas.

Taking classes is a very good first step.

3. jmohme

jmohme

Welcome aboard.
    You made a good choice in getting some training. There is a lot to learn!

rayzer007, n2g, Bus007 and 6 others like this.
  4. Will Beararms

Will Beararms Millennium Member

Welcome. Fear of firearms is healthy but don’t be timid with them. Assertive control is necessary to properly operate a handgun. You are a lady, you have been given the natural ability to push whereas men are innate pullers. Use this push tendency to your advantage when manipulating the slide of your Gen. 5 17 to chamber a round. I have taught my wife to bring the handgun in close and parallel to her tummy while pushing in one direction with the top of the slide and pushing in the other direction with her hand on the pistol grip albeit making sure no one or no animal is in the line of fire.