close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Bought a New Camera need best memory card

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by jay29, Mar 8, 2012.

1. jay29

jay29

Bought a Canon Elph 500 HS for $149.00 shipped. I now need the best memory card I can get. The more gigabites the better.

2. lethal tupperwa

lethal tupperwa

it might help if you said what kind of card it uses.

3. fatfred

fatfred

4. MrsKitty

MrsKitty

I strongly caution you against this. Use multiple smaller cards.

If you use your ONLY card or it gets corrupted, you have lost ALL of your photos. If you have your photos spread out on smaller cards, you will only lose what's on that ONE card if something happens...

5. Nicky D

Nicky D CLM

I've been using Lexmar for the last several years. I agree with MrsKitty, do not depend on one huge card, get a couple smaller ones. I carry 2, one is 2Gb & the other is 1Gb. The amount of pictures that they hold depend on the format that I am shooting. My 2Gb card can hold quite a few, @400 pictures of Jpeg, high quality. If I am shooting RAW then the count drops significantly.

6. TX expat

TX expat

I use SanDisk Extreme for professional use, so I'd say those are 'the best' IMO. For any consumer PnS type of camera, you could probably use their Ultra line and save yourself some money and do just as well.

7. woodasptim

woodasptim

I'd start with a couple of these

[ame="http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Video-Memory-SDSDRX3-016G-A21/dp/B003D5MY5I/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1331232769&sr=8-1"]Amazon.com: SanDisk Extreme HD Video 16 GB SDHC Class 10 Memory Card (SDSDRX3-016G-A21): Electronics@@AMEPARAM@@http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/51XFd5pMm%2BL.@@AMEPARAM@@51XFd5pMm%2BL[/ame]

8. ray9898

ray9898

SDHC? You cannot go wrong with any name brand models, just get the highest class the camera will support. I would advise several smaller cards instead of one big one though.

9. stolenphot0

stolenphot0 RTF2 Addict