Big Stick, no love!

Discussion in 'The Martial Arts Forum' started by glockzilla10mm, Apr 10, 2016.

1. glockzilla10mm

glockzilla10mm SAFETY PIN CRITIC!! Lifetime Member

For a number of years, I sought to develop my own hybrid art system due to the fact that I am a lifelong veteran of cerebral palsy, and walked on Canadian crutches. Commonly called forearm crutches, they. Are very much like a tonfa or pr24 baton.
    I repeatedly broke many a pair of the weaker aluminum versions on heavy bag workouts and redesigned them and built a pair from stainless pipe that weigh roughly 2.5 times each what an aluminum crutch does.
    Needless to say they are coconut crackers!

Now that I am older, I am considering iron palm training, but I wonder...is there sound martial science to support what is seen on YouTube and other venues, or am I barking up the wrong tree?
    I know for a fact that Dim Mak techniques are effective if properly applied, as the art of medicinal acupuncture is closely associated with the roots of Dim Mak.
    From the best I can tell, iron palm and dim mak are often mistaken, intertwined and misrepresented as well, but I digress.
    Any thoughts on how I could best approach this training?
    Thanks!

2. fastbolt

fastbolt

There's been a lot of info overload on these topics in recent years, and you're right in that they're frequently tied together by some sources.

While over simplifying it somewhat, I'd be inclined to avoid the potentially harmful zealous methods sometimes put forth as iron palm training (especially with an underlying health issue), and look more toward the internal methods that emphasize breathing techniques in order to control and focus chi. Mental visualization can be helpful, as consciousness has a direct influence on what is created outside the mind.

Even stick (extension of self) training can benefit from continuing attempts to master breathing.