Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 20 of 43 Posts

·
Preferred Pronouns: (It, Ya'll, Bruh)
3,220 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am just getting started, so excuse the rookie questions I have coming out the gate.

Thankfully, I have been stashing brass for awhile and keep my own once-shot factory brass shot on an indoor range in separate bags from the brass I get on outdoor military ranges.

Despite serving a decade, I had no idea 9mm rounds came with crimped primers..thought only 5.56...until I started digging around around and found some ring-around-the-primer.

Is there a real easy way to process this without doing a 'super swage 600' session one case at a time? That has zero appeal to me at this time. :)

I was hoping there was a Dillon decap and swage die for the 750 and I could just get another toolhead with one swage die, fire up the casefeeder, load with all the 9mm from outdoor range, and go to town...one pull, one swage, auto-fed cases (like the 1050 can do, right?)

I did find a Lee die that seems to do this, but it was exclusive to one of their presses/something or other.

I also plan to add .223/5.56 to the mix probably next Spring after I get dialed-in and expand my knowledge base, so don't mind buying something (cheap) dedicated to processing brass ahead of loading...preferably with the ability to load up the casefeeder and merely pull a handle 1K at a time. :)

Does any of this make sense? Perhaps I am over thinking it w/ 9mm, so being new, I have to show my press and primers respect and not do something stupid as a result of my laziness. lol

·
Registered
13 Posts
best approach for processing crimped primer pockets in both 5.56 & 9mm is don't bother unless you really need the brass - i would save for future if you think brass is going to get scarce or sell to recycler if you have bunch & buy more ammo or unprimed cases - so much 5.56 & 9 brass around you shouldn't need to bother with the crimped stuff -

·
Registered
36,252 Posts