Glock Talk banner

Best all-around Glock?

8902 142
I've been buying and selling Glocks and other handguns for about 16 years, looking for the Holy Grail ... a gun that is reliable, accurate, comfortable to conceal, low profile for reduced printing, provides high capacity, and usable for home defense at night (in other words, capable of simply attaching a weapon-mounted-light in the evening and easily removed in the morning).

So far, I've found the Model 26.5 to check most of the boxes, although the WML is a bit of a challenge, unless I want to dedicate the gun with a Streamlight, or take a few minutes each evening to screw on a ReCover Tactical frame rail adapter and mount an Olight Mini PL-2 Valkyrie light. I like the brighter light produced by the Olight.

I'm wondering about the G43 MOS as a possibility. However, I have some concerns about it. With the G43 and G42, my high right thumb grip has a tendency to press up on the slide catch release, preventing reliable lock back of the slide. Guess I'd have to handle a G43 MOS to see where my thumb lands to answer that question. My other concern is that the apparent offering for 15-round magazines (forget the name now) requires a steel mag release, which can wear down the stock polymer Glock mags over time.

My go-to handgun for deep concealment is a j-frame 642 or 637 with a factory-bobbed hammer.

Any experience would be appreciated.
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
23,838 Posts
I would say either a 23/32 or a 27/33 for their modularity.

You can switch calibers with a barrel swap and increase capacity and grip size with mags and sleeves.
I had a Glock 19 and it was my my first Glock. the first Glock I ever shot was a Glock 17 back in the late 90's and I didn't like it and I was mostly interested in a 10mm Glock because at teh time I carried a lightweight Colt Commander and much preferred calibers that started with the number 4 though I thought 9mm was OK.