close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Best all around 9mm Glock for both IDPA and IPSC?

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by Dr.Chris, Jul 5, 2006.

1. Dr.Chris

Dr.Chris

I am still Glock shopping and have been considering buying a Glock for competition. I know VERY LITTLE about competitions at this point, just that there are two types and that your gun has to fit in a certain sized box.

Though it appears that a lot of people do either IDPA or IPSC and not both, I'd like this gun to be eligible in either class. If there are other popular competition classes please educate me. Since I am a complete novice I think I should stick to stock class but I welcome your feedback on other classes.

I have been looking at the Glock 17L and the Glock 34, but would consider others. For instance is the Glock 17 used a lot in competition? Would I be better off there? Your feedback is appreciated.

Chris

P.S. I would like to stick to 9mm if possible due to its low per round cost and compatibility with other guns. As a Canadian it must have a 4.13" or longer barrel, but I know competition barrels normally exceed this length.

2. 4eyes

4eyes Provocateur

The 17L will not fit in the box for either game.

Google IDPA and USPSA for the rules

3. Hickeroar

Hickeroar Glock 26 HoDown

In your situation, I'd go with a G34. It's got a longer barrel than the 17(non-L) which is better for competition shooting, and it costs 100-150 less than the 17L... The 17L is a little bit longer, but it's (IMHO) not worth the extra money that it costs unless you're at the top of the game and have the money laying around to spend. In my experiences (looking at gun stores), the G34 has about the same price as all the other Glocks.

For IPSC and IDPA the 9mm is probably your best choice as well. Since there's no rules about which caliber your gun has to be, why not use the one with the lowest recoil and cheapest ammo...

4. Jim Watson

Jim Watson

Get a Glock 17.