close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Beginner Advice.

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by OmahaNE, Nov 24, 2004.

1. OmahaNE

OmahaNE CCW NEBRASKA

I have searched through this forum and found tons of useful information. I'm starting to get dizzy!

What would you recommend to someone who wants to shoot a GSSF *style* (seen here: http://rockyourglock.tripod.com/index.html ) competition and is 6 months out from their first match. I can practice once a week at an indoor range, 50 - 100 rounds per session.

The range is divided into "lanes", and we can only use paper targets. So, what I'm saying is that I can't practice on the real course.

I have never done a shooting competition before.

Considering these limitations, what should I practice?
    Also, what is a "mediocre" level that I can aspire to for my first match?

Thanks for all input!

2. OmahaNE

OmahaNE CCW NEBRASKA

Oh, I should note that I'll be using a stock G17 with 17 round mags, and winchester whitebox ammo from walmart.

3. DannyR

DannyR Moderator Millennium Member

Your ammo choice is fine. I use full capacity magazines in GSSF Competition, but I am only allowed to load 10 or 11 rounds per magazine. You can make your own targets, or purchase paper targets and practice shooting "controlled pairs" at 5, 10, 15, 20 and 25 yards. In a real GSSF match, you only have 6 shots at 25 yards--it's best to make every one count. For Plates practice, you can tape two 9 inch pie plates side by side on your paper targets and shoot at 11 yards.

4. OmahaNE

OmahaNE CCW NEBRASKA

thanks for the tips!

5. DEJ/FL

DEJ/FL Millennium Member

Coach DannyR gave some very good advice! I would add the inexpencive "Paper Plates" also made good practice targets and they are about the same size as the "Falling Plates" and also very close in size to the 8" "No Penilty" zone on the D-1's!
    Good Luck and practice Safely!
    Dan:cool:

6. cmzneb

cmzneb