basic but dependable chrono?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by M1A Shooter, May 1, 2012.

1. M1A Shooter

M1A Shooter

i am looking to get a chronograph but am looking at something easy to use to get basic functions. dont need a printer or special attachments. only consideration would be that its simple to take to a public range and setup quickly.

i have zero experience with them but am looking to refine my reloading and getting the feedback data would help vs just guessing from the books.

thanks ahead of time for your recommendations.

2. F106 Fan

F106 Fan

Not the cheapest chrono around but I am going to recommend the CED Millenium 2

http://www.cedhk.com/shop/products/CED-M2-Chronograph-Set.html

It costs a little under $200.

The part I like is that the electronics is on the bench. I can shoot a few rounds (a string), save or trash that string and start another string from the keyboard.

I don't have to write anything down (like individual velocities) or save any results. It is handy to note the string # (as it is saved) and what was being shot.

You can connect the chrono to your computer to download the data. I import it into a spreadsheet so I can add information about the loads and save the final results.

I particularly don't want the electronics downrange.

You can search this forum for more on the topic. We just went through this a month ago. There were other recommendations.

Richard

3. Boxerglocker

Boxerglocker Jacks #1 Fan

4. fredj338

fredj338

CED, best on the market IMO next to the Oehler. Good screens, easy to setup & use. The screen mounting bracket is a bit weak, but just handle carefully. Avoid the Chorny line unless you only want to spot check your ammo. Using one often is a huge PITA IMO.

5. ron59

ron59 Bustin Caps

I've had one like this for just under 3 years. Has been flawless so far. I have shot those support brackets a few times, they just bend and I bend them back. Nothing has been damaged to date.