close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Baseball defintion of strike zone, rules question.

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by ithaca_deerslayer, Apr 30, 2012.

1. ithaca_deerslayer

ithaca_deerslayer

If a strike zone is from the knees to the chest, can a batter squat down lower and shrink the strike zone?

2. profiler999

profiler999

Yes they can. Do it all the time.

3. KentuckyPatriot

KentuckyPatriot Photojournalist

Actually it is not how scrunched down they are, but rather their hitting stance which is defined as how they stand when they are taking a swing.

If the batter wants to crouch down to take advantage of a smaller strike zone they they will have to make all swings from that position...this typically is not done, and thus once they stand up to swing their true strike zone is defined.

Hope this helps...and yes, I have some background in calling balls and strikes, and didn't put up with non-sense. Play the game!

4. Dennis in MA

Dennis in MA Get off my lawn

Knees to mid-tummy, IIRC. Expanded from knees-to-belt several (few?) years ago. Letters are too high.

There is a story of a manager in the 30's or 40's that had a "little person" on his team. He had ONE at bat. Was told, "Stand there and put that bat on your shoulder. If you swing, you are fired."

Walked on 4 pitches. Strike zone was itty-bitty. Other coach was PISSED.

(There is also another legend of a hitter who fouled off dozens of pitches. "Walk me or run out of game balls. Your choice." They eventually walked him. LOL)

5. ithaca_deerslayer

ithaca_deerslayer

Ok, what I'm going to suggest sounds so dumb, it must be. But I'm just missing something :)

Why doesn't a batter scrunch down so low that the strike zone is essentially 0 height, and try to take 2 good swings from that position. And if he can't hit, then just let the rest of the pitches be balls and get the walk?

6. bocaboca

bocaboca