close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

baby glock vs. 2" snub for pocket carry

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by tonyg, Mar 20, 2006.

1. tonyg

tonyg

i'm new to glocking so forgive me if i'm asking a stupid question. i currently carry a taurus 85ss in an alessi (front)pocket holster. it works fine in standard army fatigue pants which is what i normally wear. i've been thinking about getting a sub glock (26, 27,or 33). the measurements for these three models i'm considering are 6.29" long x 4.17" high x 1.18" thick. this is slightly smaller all the way around than my taurus....(6.5"x4.28"x1.35") and yet the general drift i'm getting from reading the posts on this subject (if i'm not mistaken) is that a lot of you glockers, if not most, think the baby glocks are not best suited for front pocket carry. could you please explain? thanks for your help.....tonyg

2. Hugo R

Hugo R Gaff G26 User!

Yes, a lot of folks here think the Sub Glocks are good pocket guns. I don't like to carry Glocks (any Glocks) in anything other than a good holster.

As much as I LOVE the Subs (especially the G26) I think a small revolver with it's rather heavy and long trigger pull is probably a little more a pocket gun...IMHO of course. It's all about the trigger and weather you feel comfortable carrying a fully loaded Glock in a pocket.

However, undaunted by my own opinion, I do sometimes carry my G26 in a pocket...sort of. I carry the G26 in a leather vest with an inside pocket designed for that purpose. I don't know however, if I would just drop her in a back jeans pocket (like I used to back in the day with my S&W M36) or in a front pocket of a loose pair of shorts.

I carry my G26 pretty much 24/7 and apart from the vest I usually carry it in a good sturdy holster, the type depending on the season. For me the firepower of the G26 over the snubby makes all the difference. I'll put up with the extra bulk for the added capacity.