close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

AVG vs. AVAST

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by RaiderRodney, Feb 17, 2006.

1. RaiderRodney

RaiderRodney Just Win Baby

Ok, I have seen several of you say you love Avast. I have been using AVG for probably about 5 years now and have to ask about it. What is better with Avast that AVG doesn't give me? I download my fair share of old files and junk and my son which is 12 also does with game mods, etc. I have yet to have a virus,etc. get through AVG and cause trouble. Is Avast lighter on your PC?

Convince me :)

2. Washington D.C.

Washington D.C.

When AVG first went from version 6.xxx to version 7.xxx there were some conflict issues.Program updates have seemed to fixed those.Avast is a huge program.Detection is about the same between the two.I find AntiVir better at detection.Avast may delete infected files a bit easier than AVG.Latest Avast seems to conflict with latest Zone Alarm firewall.AVG free has automatic updates and scans e-mail clients.Avast and AntiVir require the paid version to do this.AVG free also doesn't require renewing the free registration.They all seem to do about an equaul job keeping infections out.If there is an infected file I like to install AntiVir to remove it.AntiVir is about the fastest and lightest too.The updates are manual and the free version updates can be very slow.I put AVG on my mothers PC because she doesn't want to bother with updates and it scans outlook/Thunderbird.I tried Avast.Besides the Zone Alarm conflict it's a huge program and detection doesn't seem any better than AVG.I noticed improved detection with AntiVir over Avast and AVG.

To protect against spyware try SpywareBlaster and for the best Spyware scanner try Ewido.

3. Gadgetman

Gadgetman

I use the free version of Avast and it scans my e-mail for viruses.

4. Kanos

Kanos Why yes.