close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Auto Clock synchronization question

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Nowhere Man, Sep 18, 2004.

  1. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man

    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Port, FL
    Synchronization can only occur when connected to the internet.

    Do I need to be online at the time of the next synchronization (9-25-04 at 8:25am)? Or, will it automatically adjust the next time I'm on after 9-25?

    Can I adjust how often the clock re-synchronizes?


    Thanks, Dave
     
  2. BikerGoddess

    BikerGoddess Got hairspray?

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    What client are you using?

    http://www.ntp-systems.com/symmtime_download.asp

    Allows you to configure when it checks, plus allows for manual checks. As far as I know, all *nix versions come with NTP, which is also highly configurable. Routers are the only devices I know of that don't let you change the frequency. (But I have no experience with the MS proprietary time thingie. It's non-standard, of course ;Q )

    Laura
     

  3. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man

    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Port, FL
    Oh crap! Technical questions!:)

    Here's what's happening:

    I set the time on my computer at 8:25am this morning. The correct time now is 10:25am. According to my computer, the current time is 10:48am. That's a gain in time of 20 some minutes in two hours!

    A better question might be, How do I shut off or hide the clock display?

    Dave
     
  4. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man

    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Port, FL
    I got it! Dam#, I'm good!:) (I just made it go bye-bye)


    Dave
     
  5. BikerGoddess

    BikerGoddess Got hairspray?

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Wow. I'd ask if you're overclocking, but I'm going to guess no by the 'oh crap, technical questions' comment ;)

    Having your time off that drastically may cause you problems with file versions, passwords, evaluation copies of software, and other stuff.

    The link is to a free program. I'd try that - pretty easy to set up. Might save you some really hard to diagnose headaches later on down the line...

    Laura

    P.S. Spent upwards of 4 weeks troubleshooting an issue at work that was finally determined to be caused by a system clock being exactly 24 hours off.
     
  6. Nowhere Man

    Nowhere Man

    Messages:
    980
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 22, 2003
    Location:
    North Port, FL
    Thanks Laura. Your right, no computer whiz here.:)

    As far as I know, everything else seems to work OK. It was the time being off that bothered me most.

    For now I'll just wait till my son visits in December. He's the whiz. He goes out and buys all the newest/fastest stuff. When the next version of the newest/fastest stuff comes out, I get his old newest/fastest stuff. Problem is, it still seems to cost me $500 every time he gives me his free computers. :)


    Dave
     
  7. BikerGoddess

    BikerGoddess Got hairspray?

    Messages:
    1,327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2002
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    LOL I know that feeling...

    My brother got married and bought a house and all that, so the flow of computer parts has dried up. Have to buy my own now ;u

    Laura