archery experts... I'm having a bow problem. Help.

Discussion in 'Hunting, Fishing & Camping' started by rfb45colt, Oct 11, 2005.

1. rfb45colt

rfb45colt safe-cracker

I've been bow-hunting a lot of years, but I'm no expert on bows. I've got a 1997 vintage Mathews Z-Max, lefthanded bow. Draw weight is 55-65, draw length is 30". I've used this bow since '98. I recently had the string & harness replaced at a local archery shop. Now I can't even pull it back far enough to "break" into the let-off without a great deal of effort. I turned the draw weight down as far as I dare. The owner's manual says 1 complete turn of the limb bolt will lesson the weight by 3-4 lbs. I cranked them down (in) to the max (which should put the bow at approx it's max weight of 65lbs). I then backed the bolts out 3 complete turns each (one turn on the top, then one on the bottom, one more on the top, etc). This should put the draw weight near 55lbs. But it's still well over 70lbs on my deer scale. WTF??? I took it back to the archery shop, he checked things out, and says there nothing wrong, it's just that the new string has to be "stretched" a bit by using it. It needs to be "broken in". Problem is, I can't use it as it is, to break it in. There's no way in hell I can pull it confidently while sitting. I'm not a 98lb weakling. I'm 6'-2", 210lbs, and in pretty good shape.... but I am almost 56 yrs old. :(

I still think something's not right... maybe he used the wrong string length, or harness, or something. Before it was re-strung, I had no problems pulling it from a sitting position, even when set at a much higher weight than what it is supposed to be at now.

Does a new string set-up need that much "break-in"? I don't remember it being that hard to draw when it was brand new... I never would've bought it if it was. This is the 1st re-string job I've had done on it, so it's all new to me.

2. noway

noway

My 1st thought, did they place the right string on your bow?