AR-15 Pistol for Patrol Rifle

Discussion in 'Cop Talk' started by hudson69, Sep 7, 2020.

1. hudson69

hudson69

Hola,
    I am an investigator at a small agency. When I was a Patrol Officer I carried my AR-15 as soon as they authorized it. Now that I am mostly out of uniform I've been trying to set up a smaller, lighter active threat response kit. If it's light and all in one bag I'm more likely to take it with me and not be lazy (complacent).

I had posted about setting up an AR-40 (pistol/SBR) to complement my duty G23, but this is currently cost prohibitive. My next thought was to make my Ruger PCC (.40) a little more tactically oriented but then I came across a PSA AR-15 pistol build kit. The price was spot on and, with ammunition manufacturers offering 5.56 specifically with the SBR and LE in mind (Hornady SBR TAP ammo) I'm now going this route.

So my question is this: Is anyone else using either an AR pistol or SBR as their Patrol Rifle? If so, how are you setting it up and what ammo are you using?

2. Newcop761

Newcop761 CLM

I'm not a patrol officer.

I'm issued an SBR (FN M16A3) 10" barrel. Aimpoint Micro H1, Insight WMLx, and a sling.

My area is crazy. I'm keeping a Maxim Defense PDX pistol in my POV. I put a EOTech XPS, Insight WML, and a Magpul MS3 sling on it.

A 5.56 with a pistol brace is going to better than a 9mm or .40 PCC. I DO have an AR9 PCC I built for the wife at home, but she's not responding to anything besides trouble inside our house.

Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

Ohsheepdog, pgg00 and blueiron like this.

3. Gombey

Gombey

One of my patrol sergeants has an AR pistol for patrol, he’s also the range master.

I have a biggish purchase pending, but next year I plan on buying an AR pistol...once it’s approved. Lol

4. familyman357

familyman357 I'd be more cynical, but my apathy prevents it.