AP and Northwest's 50-seat "DC-9"

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by sopdan, Feb 25, 2005.

1. sopdan

sopdan

2. GlocknAK

GlocknAK

I've been flying a DC-9 for 20 bucks a flight hour ?!?! All this time I thought I was flyin a CRJ. Since I've been an NWA pilot all this time, I'm pretty sure that they owe me some back pay. Maybe I can transition to the A-319 soon. Hmmmm.... better go e-mail ALPA

3. Stuckinhell

Stuckinhell

Why? You're already at the pinnacle of your career!

Pun intended

4. GlocknAK

GlocknAK

Don't you mean "Pinch-a-nickle" of my career? :)

I'm just joking. I can't complain about anything but the pay check, and that'll never change. There will always be enough pilots lookin for their first jet job for the airlines to offer chump change (that makes me a chump doesn't it?) for somebody to fly it from the right seat.

Besides, we got more TVs in the cockpit than you can find at Best Buy!

5. CaptainOveur

CaptainOveur

The real reason pilots start out at 17-20,000 a year for a regional airline is that customers want the cheapest ticket possible and that is the bottom line.

These days, airlines can't be competative if they are paying their pilots professional wages....

6. GlocknAK

GlocknAK

I agree with you on the fact that people want the cheapest ticket that they can find. When I pay for a positive space ticket I look for the best deal I can find too (have to with what I make ;) )

My point was that if the industry wasn't relatively flush with low time pilots willing to work for next to nothing for a few years, the pay would go up. Not pointing fingers, I'm not low time, but I was looking for a job flyin jets and I signed up.