Anyone use Lee 3 die set and does it crimp?

Discussion in 'Reloading' started by pzlehr, Oct 29, 2015.

1. pzlehr

pzlehr

I have been using a Lee Turret Press that works great, it's a 4 hole turret. I use a Lee factory crimp die in the 4th hole and I get very good reloads. Well I graduated to the Pro 1000 and it is a 3 hole turret. I am having trouble getting any kind of crimp at all. When I load a round the bullet actually is loose in the case. Does anyone else have this problem and how can it be overcome? I hate to have to set up a press where I have to go through another stage just to crimp a bullet. Any help would be appreciated!!

2. Pete789

Pete789

I have never gotten into that kind of production, just use single stage. I used to buy Lee 3 die sets but found myself buying that crimp die, so anymore I buy 4 die sets. I have had a loose bullet or two, so I always do a light crimp. Might be over cautious, but rather that than under cautious. Never had any problems crimping everything. I mostly am plinking metal gong targets at 7 yards or so. Nothing real fancy.

3. smokey45

smokey45

Neck tension from the sizing operation should be holding the bullet. Make sure you're not over belling the case mouth at the charging station. To answer your question, yes the seating die also crimps when properly adjusted.
    s45

4. dkf

dkf

What cartridge are you reloading? On the Lee 3 die pistol sets the bullet seating die crimps also.

To set it up put a sized empty case or even loaded round in the press, unscrew the seating stem out so it won't interfere with the brass or bullet, pull the handle so the ram comes up all the way and then screw the seater die down until it touches the brass. Once it touches the brass go down an extra 1/4 turn or so. You may need to adjust the die some to get the crimp you want.

If the bullet is loose in the case after sizing, then you got issues that a crimp will not and should never "fix".

5. unclebob

unclebob DFC, MSM, 12 Air Medals.