close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anyone know what the heck this is?

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by M2 Carbine, Nov 17, 2005.

  1. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    24,207
    Likes Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    Texas
    In the last day or so these lines began appearing at the top of the monitor screen.
    I suspect it's a monitor problem.

    I just tried "Print Screen" to get a picture of it and the lines don't appear on the copy/pasted picture in the picture editor (Paint Shop Pro).

    So I took a digital picture of the screen and this is it.
    The number of lines varies from about a dozen to six.

    Any ideas?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. DeadMansLife

    DeadMansLife Senior Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Messages:
    916
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Carlisle, PA
    Try to degauss the monitor.
     

  3. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    24,207
    Likes Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    Texas
    That sounded like a good idea to me but it didn't correct the problem.


    As much as I hated to move all the accumulated junk around my computers I hooked my other monitor to this machine. No lines.

    So I reconnected this monitor.
    No lines;P

    Even though I checked the monitor connection before, if the lines don't start again pretty quick, I guess it was a problem in the connection.;Q
     
  4. fatlander

    fatlander Comrade

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2003
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    somewhere in the mediterranean
    try cleaning the connector once in a while, use air spray or alcohol based solution,
    the same goes for cards (memory included) use rubber eraser on the PCB connectors
     
  5. UtahIrishman

    UtahIrishman BLR Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Likes Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Utah
    sometime the cable that connects the monitor to the computer gets messed up. Don't know how else to describe that. If you're monitor's cable is replacable you might consider a new cable. I've done that several times with good success.

    You can also try increasing the refresh rate.
     
  6. biblefreak

    biblefreak

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    West Texas
    Last time I had this happen it was a video card going out.
     
  7. M2 Carbine

    M2 Carbine

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2002
    Messages:
    24,207
    Likes Received:
    10,800
    Location:
    Texas
    Update.

    The lines came back yesterday.

    I disconnected the monitor plug at the computer, can't disconnect it from the monitor.

    The problem is definately in the monitor plug or computer socket. When I plugged the cable back into the computer, no lines.

    Like fatlander said, it could just need a cleaning.
    I have to put that on the list.:)

    But it's time for something to take a crap, I think the warranty has run out.
     
  8. chevrofreak

    chevrofreak Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Billings, Montana
    try adjusting your screen refresh rate and see if that had any effect on it