Glock Talk banner

Anyone installed Windows 10 yet?

2619 Views 35 Replies 27 Participants Last post by  Generalcarry
Booted up this morning and lo and behold, there's the icon for the Win10 upgrade. I'm using Win7 and am satisfied with it. If any of you have done the upgrade, is it worth it? Any hassles? Is it better?
1 - 20 of 36 Posts

· Annoying Member
2,202 Posts
That is probably the icon to sign up for the free upgrade when W10is released ... it was pushed to you via Windows updates.

To answer you question, yes I have W10 installed on a couple of virtual machines.

· Registered
2,664 Posts
I've been toying with it off an on it a VM for a few months. Seems pretty solid to me. I'm not going to upgrade until I can verify some program compatibility. I don't want to buy new versions of things just because.

· Registered
158 Posts
I have signed up for the upgrade, but I had better be able to revert back to 8.1 if I want or I won't install it.

· "Knowledge Speaks - Wisdom Listens,"
29,811 Posts
Booted up this morning and lo and behold, there's the icon for the Win10 upgrade. I'm using Win7 and am satisfied with it. If any of you have done the upgrade, is it worth it? Any hassles? Is it better?
Got the same thing here and not about to sign up for anything till I'm sure it is solid and will function correctly with my existing systems.

· "Don't Tread On Me!"
6,425 Posts
Why would I want to screw up a perfectly good laptop by installing Windows on it? I'm perfectly happy with Ubuntu MATE 14.04 LTS Thank You Very Much.

· Registered
2,757 Posts
I have signed up for the upgrade, but I had better be able to revert back to 8.1 if I want or I won't install it.
You won't be able to just uninstall it or roll back. It is an OS upgrade. You will be stuck with it unless you do a fresh install or recovery from a backup.