close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anyone have AA give them a virus?

Discussion in 'The Players Club' started by ClydeG19, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. ClydeG19

    ClydeG19

    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Every time I dl AA, I seem to get a virus with it. I've uninstalled, quarantined the virus, and re-dl'ed from a different server and I get the same thing. The damn virus restarts my comp at random times.
     
  2. d0truji

    d0truji

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004

  3. ClydeG19

    ClydeG19

    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    No, it's an actual virus. My comp reboots at random times.
     
  4. d0truji

    d0truji

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    What virus scanner are you running?

    Are your virus definitions up to date?

    What is the name of the virus that is being detected?

    Where are you downloading AA from?

    When is the virus detected? Install or at download?
     
  5. ClydeG19

    ClydeG19

    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    1,930
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Norton AV Corporate

    Yes

    Various

    Various mirrors

    After uninstalling AA
     
  6. d0truji

    d0truji

    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    I don't think your problem is with AA. I think you have a virus that is not being cleaned (obviously) and is triggered by a file that AA uses. Could be a .dll or a system file.

    For starters, I think you should try a different anti virus scanner.

    Try Avast for a while and see how it reacts. It's free and works well.

    AVAST

    Just be sure to uninstall Norton first.

    Hope this helps.
     
  7. Glacked79

    Glacked79

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2000
    Location:
    Alabama
    http://housecall.trendmicro.com

    Great online virus scan - and free.

    It's not AA, unless the site you are DLing from is shooting something to you. Try another site.

    Also, if it's not cleaning, it might be a form of a boot virus. Shutdown and unplug the power cable for 10sec or so. Plug it back in and try it again. I had a boot virus for a while that would give me funny crap - I did the unplug and everything went back to normal.

    If you can't get anything to work, head to www.16aa.com and post up your problem in our general forums. Tell em Hollow sent you and you should be able to pick our resident geek's collective minds on the problem.