Anyone ever work the graveyard shift during school?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by RF7126, Jul 23, 2005.

1. RF7126

RF7126

I just got a job as a security guard at an industrial site, and they have me working the 2200-0700 shift two days in a row. When school starts that means that I'll be getting at most, 2 hours of sleep for almost a 48 hour period each week. Has anyone done this? Does this actually work with school? I plan to give it a try as it pays well, but I'm a little worried.

2. scowan007

scowan007 memberrific!!!

I worked on a loading dock near LAX loading cargo into containers. VERY physical work. 2200-0600 IIRC. Didn't do well. Had to drop about half my classes to avoid failing them.

It can be done, just not by me.

3. TerraMedicX

TerraMedicX

I'm a paramedic on an ambulance, and most of my shifts are 24 or 12 hour shifts so I work all night between school all the time. I'm lucky in the fact that I get to sleep when I'm not on calls, but sometimes we're up all night anyway. It's rough at first, but after a while you kinda get used to it. You learn to prioritize your time so that you get all your studying done early and can slip in naps. But then again, I kept falling asleep in classes too, and the teachers didn't like that too much!

Nate.

4. cowboyfire

cowboyfire

I WORK AT A SHERIFF'S DEPARTMENT AS A JAILOR AND DISPATCHER AND TRY TO TAKE ALL THE CLASS THAT WILL FIT IN MY SCHEDULE. I KNOW NIGHT SHIFTS AND DAY CLASSES WILL WEAR YOU THIN. I WORK A SWING SHIFT OF THREE 1400-2200 AND TWO 2200-0600 THE SWING SHIFT WILL DRIVE YOU UP THE WALL AND MAKE IT HARD ON YOUR SCHOOL WORK I HAVE DONE IT FOR TWO YEARS NOW

5. c5367

c5367 Esq.