Anyone ever get back into riding motorcycle?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by glock2619, May 20, 2020.

1. glock2619

glock2619 Work in Progres

Just thought I’d ask the GT brain trust their thoughts.

I grew up riding dirt/street bikes And snowmobiles. In 2003 when I graduated college and moved across the country I sold my last bike, a 929 Honda. No time and or space for it during the move and starting a family blah blah. I have seen the driving population get far worse at what they do in the past 17 years. So, getting another bike really wasn’t on my radar.

2 weeks ago a guy I used to ride with needs to downsize his stable and offered me his 2001 Ducati Monster 900. It’s had a pampered life. 12k miles in it. VERY reasonable. He knew I had always admired it. So, I’m going to grab it.

Part of my rationale for getting it now is my boys are getting older and have a significant interest in riding, so I think I should be the one to teach them. Also, I have no desire to go on all day rides or ride in groups. I think I just want to be able to go ride for a couple hours on a nice when I’m not taking away time from my family. Plus, I’m way smarter than I used to be and going fast isn’t on my radar at all. (hence the whopping 78HP Monster)

I figure if all the texters out driving around scare me or I don’t end up using it, I’ll just sell it.

I live in the Black Hills in SD with great riding (on or off) and seems a shame not to take advantage of that.

Has anyone else done the same picking back up years later? Any tips or tricks you learned immediately after picking it back up?

ZekerMan, Inyo Tim and G19Tony like this.
  2. Nemesis.

Nemesis.

I used to ride, then started having kids, and I quit. Too much at stake for me to hurt myself.

Fast forward to the kids grown and on their own. I bought a new Triumph Scrambler, rode it for a couple of years and traded up to a new Triumph Tiger Explorer XC.