Anyone else have blinders on when it comes to deals?

Discussion in 'GSSF' started by emt1581, Apr 3, 2010.

1. emt1581

emt1581 Curious Member

I dunno if anyone else is like this but sometimes an awesome deal will be staring me in the face and since I either am not looking for that particular gun or don't know much about it, I just glance over it.

A perfect example is the SKS. When I started shooting they were well under $100 for nice ones. And by the time I woke up and realized what a deal they were, the price was up to $175-ish. I should have grabbed all I could even at THAT price.

Another example was the Sig SP2022. It's just a great gun for the price....no other Sig is going to be NIB for well under $500. I did manage to grab one of those though.

Someone in another thread pointed out the Nagants were on sale for under $40 just two years ago on a site I normally check a few times a day. Now here I am looking for a crate of them and I'll be lucky to get them for $60-$70 apiece.

What are some examples of deals you didn't take advantage of because you either didn't know enough about the gun at the time or were just looking for something else at the time...and either way you kick yourself now for not buying one or a bunch?

I know some of the older folks are going to chime in about <$50 1911's shipped to your door from the government! ;)

Thanks!:)

-Emt1581

2. Cole125

Cole125 Silver Member

I my self rarely buy guns at good deals. Ive had a chance to buy police trade in G23s for $50, passed it up. SKSs for $190, passed that up. :dunno:

Usually I only like to buy NIB though.

3. emt1581

emt1581 Curious Member

Police trade in Glocks for $50?? Ok, you'll have to explain that one!

I'm not a fan of .40S&W but for $50 I'd buy a hundred and make a really nice profit.

-Emt1581

4. hogship

hogship Patriot Extraordinaire