close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anyone an electrician or know garage wiring?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by bearshoegun, Feb 10, 2010.

  1. bearshoegun

    bearshoegun

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Hey folks, I have a garage that is detached from the house and the other day I had something plugged into an outlet and the power went out in the outlet while in use.

    Now the breaker in the house for the garage is not tripped and about half of the outlets in the garage still work. I bought a wire detector and pulled out the outlets and tested the wire, thinking it was a bad outlet.

    The wires are not live to the dead outlets so I do not think its the outlets and there are no GFCI's in the garage to reset. Also no separate breaker box in the garage.

    This was long winded but I wanted to add as many details. Thanks and do you have an idea what it might be?
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2010
  2. Jay S.

    Jay S.

    Messages:
    1,307
    Likes Received:
    663
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Location:
    The Deep South
    It sounds like that outlet is on a circuit with a GFCI on it. I would check all the outlets you can and see if they are tripped. You can also double check your breakers - sometimes they look like they are not tripped but they really are.
     

  3. bearshoegun

    bearshoegun

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Thanks and I checked the breaker and it powers the whole garage which is not tripped and no GFCI's in the garage at all.
     
  4. G30SF/F-250

    G30SF/F-250 Pinky Out Platinum Member

    Messages:
    41,073
    Likes Received:
    55,758
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    PA to LA to NY to FL to IL to VA to GA to OH to FL
    Did you test for power at the breaker?
     
  5. G30SF/F-250

    G30SF/F-250 Pinky Out Platinum Member

    Messages:
    41,073
    Likes Received:
    55,758
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    PA to LA to NY to FL to IL to VA to GA to OH to FL

    Never mind, Too slow.:embarassed:
     
  6. G30SF/F-250

    G30SF/F-250 Pinky Out Platinum Member

    Messages:
    41,073
    Likes Received:
    55,758
    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Location:
    PA to LA to NY to FL to IL to VA to GA to OH to FL
    How about a junction box in the garage? Maybe its a loose connection.
     
  7. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,576
    Likes Received:
    6,278
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Is it possible that the wire feeding the dead outlets is broken? Lots of folks use bayonet connectors in cheap outles which can work loose, too. One may feed the dead outlets.
     
  8. bearshoegun

    bearshoegun

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    How do you check for a broken wire?
     
  9. gwalchmai

    gwalchmai Lucky Member

    Messages:
    27,576
    Likes Received:
    6,278
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Outside the perimeter
    Call an electrician. Seriously, you can get shocked or start a fire. The cost shouldn't be very high.
     
  10. Blaster

    Blaster Hunc tu caveto

    Messages:
    1,663
    Likes Received:
    19
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2000
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Are you certain your garage is covered by one breaker?

    If that is the case and you do have power at some outlets then you either have a bad connection, broken wire or a tripped GFCI.

    Look for a junction box.

    Perhaps the dead outlets are daisy chained to another outlet which has gone bad or the connection has opened in that outlet.
     
  11. speedydave

    speedydave KoolAid Drinker

    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    6
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Location:
    Hickory, Nc
    Where are you? A forum member would probably come and help.
     
  12. Just1More

    Just1More

    Messages:
    5,143
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Check the GFI outlet in your bathrooms. Hit the reset button. They're probably on the same line.
     
  13. JuneyBooney

    JuneyBooney

    Messages:
    18,216
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2009
    Location:
    Northern Virginia
    I had outlets that would not work for over a year 'til I found out that the garage gfci was tripped and the outlets were in a series. It sounds like a switch or breaker/fuse tripped. It does not sound like a loose wire.
     
  14. bearshoegun

    bearshoegun

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Solved my problem Folks!

    After seeing all of the GFI outlet suggestions I decided to trace all my exposed wiring and low and behold there was a GFI outlet behind some junk that I couldn't see.

    Hit the reset and back in business. Thanks.
     
  15. Cinic

    Cinic Spongy Member

    Messages:
    1,978
    Likes Received:
    175
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2001
    Location:
    Tempe, AZ
    Just out of curiosity, what were you using when the GFCI tripped?
     
  16. Tailhunter

    Tailhunter Glockman

    Messages:
    4,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    NC/VA State Line
    Ouch, that would suck.
     
  17. Tailhunter

    Tailhunter Glockman

    Messages:
    4,872
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Location:
    NC/VA State Line
    Code here requires that gfi's be used in a garage.
     
  18. EUPHER49

    EUPHER49

    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Location:
    SEPA
    That's an NEC requirement.
     
  19. bearshoegun

    bearshoegun

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    I was using a old school all-metal craftsman belt sander for the first time but it worked on other outlets after that.
     
  20. wct097

    wct097

    Messages:
    2,094
    Likes Received:
    149
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2000
    Location:
    VA
    I understand that you've fixed your problem, but if your garage is detached, it should have it's own breaker panel. The one in the main house should feed another panel in the garage.