anybody with aftermarket rims and tire monitoring system?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by crushproof, Feb 21, 2010.

  1. crushproof

    crushproof

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    my friend said he'll give me the aftermarket rims and tires he has sitting in his garage if i help with painting the inside and outside of his house. the rims are 17 inch and black and i think they would look real nice on my car, but i have a tire monitoring system on my civic. if i put these rims on would my tire monitoring light stay on?
     
  2. Scared_of_zombies

    Scared_of_zombies

    Messages:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    why would they trip the light?
     

  3. crushproof

    crushproof

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    i'm not sure they would, but doesn't tire monitoring have sensors in the tires.. my theory is the light may come on if i put new tires and rims without the sensors
     
  4. Goldendog Redux

    Goldendog Redux Shut your mouth

    Messages:
    5,245
    Likes Received:
    98
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Location:
    Nevada
    Painting sucks a huge nugget. Those had better be some sweet rims

    MF
     
  5. Scared_of_zombies

    Scared_of_zombies

    Messages:
    3,369
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2008
    have you ever put a spare on?

    i would think they might have a sensor inside the rim (most systems are like this), you could likely mount them on a new rim but you would have to pull the tires off first.

    some systems just use a different kind of valve stem.
     
  6. crushproof

    crushproof

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    lol yes painting does suck especially a whole house but i imagine those rims and tires he has prolly cost him near a thousand dollars.. so i don't mind doing it, but not if i'm gonna have a tire light on in my car all the time

    quote=Scared_of_zombies;14805240]have you ever put a spare on?

    i would think they might have a sensor inside the rim (most systems are like this), you could likely mount them on a new rim but you would have to pull the tires off first.

    some systems just use a different kind of valve stem.[/quote]
    i wonder if i could use the sensors from the tires i have on now? but the tires i have now are 16 inch the ones i'm getting are 17 i dunno if the sensors are for just 16's
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2010
  7. zukyota

    zukyota

    Messages:
    1,473
    Likes Received:
    691
    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Location:
    Alabama
    Yes it would trip the light. The tire pressure sensor in your tires are part of the valve stem, you may be able to swap them onto the aftermarket rims if not you can buy them to put on the rims.
     
  8. harlenm

    harlenm Millennium Member

    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 1999
    Location:
    CT
    What's the big deal if the light is on? My winter wheels/tires don't have sensors, not a big deal to have the light on.
     
  9. crushproof

    crushproof

    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2009
    ok i see. i hope i can switch them then i don't wanna have to buy 4 sensors i know they aren't cheap

    @harlenm
    i know it's not a big deal but it would bug the hell out of me seeing the tpms light on all the time on my dash
     
  10. cagnoli

    cagnoli Patriot First

    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Location:
    Kiantone, NY
    You can have sensors put in the rims. No big deal. I have two sets for my truck. Otherwise, your TPMS light WILL be on the entirety of those tires living on the car. And, depending on what state you live in, you could fail an inspection.

    If you are getting the tires and wheels for free....spend the 90 bucks and get the TPMS sensors installed. Do it right.
     
  11. harlenm

    harlenm Millennium Member

    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 1999
    Location:
    CT
    So put a piece of black electrical tape over it so you don't see the light.
     
  12. harlenm

    harlenm Millennium Member

    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 1999
    Location:
    CT
    If you are required to not have the light on at inspection, put the stock rims on for the inspection, then switch them back.

    And the sensors for my car were $50 each.
     
  13. Cameronswmp9

    Cameronswmp9

    Messages:
    464
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    The way most sensors mount will have an effect on the wheel itself (seen on aftermarket wheels, OE wheels are usually the same all the way around the bead from what I have seen), it will have a bevel for the sensor to sit. If it doesnt have the bevel, the sensor may not seal and will have your light on anyway.

    Either way, sounds like you will need to dismount the tire to see how its set up. It wouldnt be a big deal to have the light on, just an annoyance issue.

    I am not sure if your state has state inspections. If they do, the TPMS light may be an inspection issue, check your local laws.
     
  14. Z71bill

    Z71bill

    Messages:
    18,532
    Likes Received:
    6,743
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    I was at Discount Tire and the customer in front of me wanted to buy a tire/wheel package - he had a TPMS in his car.

    I could not help but overhear the conversation -

    they said they would try and put the sensors from his OEM wheels on the new wheels - if it did not work they could install new sensors in the after market wheels and program them to work with his vehicle -

    The cost of swapping out the sensors was $10 per wheel for some kit - that included new gaskets & hardware - which would not be bad -

    I can't recall the cost of complete new sensors but remember thinking WOW that's a lot.
     
  15. 1-2man

    1-2man Part Time

    Messages:
    4,735
    Likes Received:
    425
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Location:
    Detroit
    I switch between summer wheels and winter wheels with season. I deal with the light as the dealership wants $30.00 to 'reset' the sensor each time. :upeyes:
     
  16. harlenm

    harlenm Millennium Member

    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    1,096
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 1999
    Location:
    CT
    I don't have to reset anything, just drive around normally for 20 minutes.
     
  17. 1-2man

    1-2man Part Time

    Messages:
    4,735
    Likes Received:
    425
    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Location:
    Detroit
    I'm about 4,000 miles into my switch to winter rims and the light is still on. No big deal. I can live with the light. I think this is a gimmick by the dealership to make some extra money during routine tire rotations. Nobody sells the tool so you can do it yourself...yet (at least I haven't found it available for my car.)
     
  18. geofri

    geofri Poikilotherm™ Lifetime Member

    Messages:
    7,579
    Likes Received:
    492
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Location:
    Below sea level.
    :needspics:

    Plannin' to get a civic myself. :supergrin:
     
  19. JMS

    JMS 02

    Messages:
    17,819
    Likes Received:
    10,453
    Joined:
    May 6, 2007
    A lot of the Tundra/Sequoia guys remove the sensors from the wheels and put it in a pressurized pvc tube so they can switch back and forth without worrying about the sensors. The computer reads the correct pressure from all 4 sensors, irrelevant of where they truly are.
     
  20. handyman

    handyman

    Messages:
    1,464
    Likes Received:
    81
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2008
    Do to missing sensors. Get new ones have installed but they need to be programed.