Anybody involved in a Church Small Group?

Discussion in 'Religious Issues' started by John_NJ, Feb 23, 2013.

1. John_NJ

John_NJ

My wife and I have been attending a small group since 2010. We have about 20 groups in our church that meet on a regular basis.

I would be interested in hearing others experience in these kinds of groups. Do you do a lot of study or does it turn more into a social event? Do you tend to do topical studies or specific books of the bible? How do you handle prayer time/prayer requests?

Our group is now up to 15 people. We range in age from 40-70. About 1 1/2 hours is discussing the study and the last 1/2 hour is pray time and requests.

It's a bit of a challenge staying on topic/on time with so many people but we somehow manage.

2. marvin

marvin sci-fi nut

my church has small groups. some of them are for study's some are for social groups. you can get together and study the bible in Hebrew or get together and scrapbook. in the summer months we even have a shooting group that meets once a month to go plinking with friends.

3. 9jeeps

9jeeps rip "Bud"

Been in a lot of them and some bad ones along the way.

In one now, studying the attributes of God. Co-ed and a good group. About six older couples and it's fun for us as we don't have any zealots that have to hog the conversations or prove their expertise at theology

At about 12 or more to a group should be split off into another group. For many reasons. One of which you mention .
    Although my wife's Ladies group is 15 plus and they are doing great. But they have snacks. And my wife is a retired Teacher and she runs a tight group.

Our men's group is about 12 and I don't go to that one. There are several other groups as well.

One can learn a lot OR become bored out of one's mind.

Most of the time I got into trouble with younger leaders that are more idealistic control freaks. If you are into one of these... get the hell out of there fast.