close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Anybody Flyfish?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Kona, Jan 7, 2010.

1. Kona

Kona

So today is my 21st birthday and my parents got me flyfishing stuff! I told them I wanted to learn how to flyfish and my dad has done it all his live out in the NW! However, I live in Illinois and have never seen anybody flyfish there? I thought flyfishing was mainly done in moving creeks/ streams/ rivers! I only know of lakes in Illinois that are dirty! Anyone know how to flyfish into lakes with dirty water or some good places to go in IL to flyfish? Like I said, I am new to flyfishing and am eager to learn so any info would be great! PS... I also got 20 rounds of Hornady 40SW ammo, and 100 rounds of Blazer 40SW! Had a great birthday today and will be throwin a few beers back with the old man and older brother tonight!

2. Johnspark

Johnspark Grumpy Fish

You'll be better off reading and learning about flyfishing prior to going out and just casting around. Get some video that shows the proper casting technique and try it in your yard or a park. (yes you'll get some odd looks) Flyfishing in lakes and ponds is common and can be very productive for panfish. I like to fish rivers from my kayak. The flyrod is a great way to add a bit of a kick to regular ole fishin...

[​IMG]

3. community

community Member

my wife and I love flyfishing. go to a sports store and buy a video. watch many times and go out and practice. In no time, you will be able to put your fly where you want it to go.

best wishes. and, we always catch and release.

4. jlprtr

jlprtr CLM

To begin with, Happy Birthday: and why are you here instead of out applying for your CC permit?

Although I haven't flyfished for who knows how long, it is truly a blast! Get a good book on it to learn how to tie the knots, flies, etc. not to mention vids demonstrating casting techniques. You would be floored seeing what can be done.