close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Any Nurses here?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by doktor doom, Dec 30, 2009.

1. doktor doom

doktor doom

I'm pondering a mid-life career change, and several friends of mine have done sort of the same thing, and gone into nursing. I'd like to hear just general observations on the job, or any advice from those who have chosen this career.

How rigorous/difficult was the schooling for you, what different types of positions are available within the field, is it a financially good move, do you have any reservations/regrets about it, how physically taxing is it, etc, etc?

My background is in hospitality/ restaurant, and my education was liberal arts oriented. I'm looking for something that pays a bit better and has a little more upward mobility than what I'm doing now. I'm almost 40.

I'd like to hear everyone's thoughts, please.

2. SouthernGal

SouthernGal What's Up Dox?

I am not a nurse but work alongside 5 who are (4 women, 1 man). I've never once heard any of them say they disliked this type of work and I know that they are VERY well paid for what they do. These 5 do not work any longer in direct patient care either, so they have regular M-F hours and are off weekends.

3. hhb

hhb

I retired 3 years ago at a hospital with it's own college of nursing. The hospital provided loans to students, and if the grad would sign on after graduation, would forgive all or part of the loan. Great career, but it's one of those 24/7 jobs. No such thing as a weekend until longevity occurs. Lots of 12 hr shifts too.

4. MarcoPolo

MarcoPolo

I think it depends largely on what you mean by "nurse".

Lots of titles based on state, but Nurse's Assistant? LVN? RN?