any good at shootin pool??

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by youngvr4, Feb 14, 2010.

1. youngvr4

youngvr4

Well I suck as of right now, I'm somewhat new to the game, I've only played a handful of times in my life.
    My dad was a pool champ, big time.
    During superbowl Sunday my dad handed down his custom made original palmer cue stick.
    I went to a pool hall with it last night and the owner and other employees surrounded my table explaining to me how much it was worth. 3-4000 dollars they said.
    I guess I'm gonna put it up and not really play with it until I get really good and play a serious game.
    I'm flattered my dad gave this stick to me with what its worth, I really have to baby this thing

2. G30SF/F-250

G30SF/F-250 Pinky Out Platinum Member

PA to LA to NY to FL to IL to VA to GA to OH to FL

3. Ol Timer

Ol Timer ↓ hog hunter ↓ Millennium Member

Nice. Ask your dad the history of the stick. Could be he won it in a tourney. Knowing things like this, no matter how it came about, you will cherish it all the more.

And take your dad down the pool hall. I bet he'd be thrilled to teach you the finer points of the game.

4. Annoyedgrunt

Annoyedgrunt Dry Heat my ASS

I used to be pretty good- to a point. I could usually hold my own with just about anyone else in a pool hall, but the aggravating thing about pool with me was that one given night I could be on fire- I couldn't miss a shot- and then the next night I couldn't buy a shot. In the end, I just gave it up because the consistency just wasn't there.

5. UtahIrishman

UtahIrishman BLR

Pretty much the same with me. I ran the table more than once then I'd scratch the next time, particularly if there was money on the table.

I quit betting on pool a long time ago.

6. Critias

Critias Freelancer CLM

I win more than I lose, but I just play casual games with buddies and stuff, don't go gunslinging down at the local pool hall and take challengers or whatnot.