Any Alaska pilots out there?

Discussion in 'The Okie Corral' started by Romulas, Sep 23, 2007.

1. Romulas

Romulas Guest

I'm looking to move to Alaska next spring. From what I understand thats when many of the flying jobs start. I have my instrument, single and multi-commercial done as well as the complex, high performance, and tail wheel (Cub, Super Cub, Pitts and Decathlon) sign offs done. 275 hours total time. 50 hours mountain experience (Colorado). Would any of you fellow GTers have input as to where to look for a job? I can live out of a tent, done that before, so low pay is not a problem. I have 4 years experience with fueling/line jobs so I would also be interested in somthing that could develop into a flying job. Anyone have ideas? Thanks in advance folks.

2. Bushflyr

Bushflyr ʇno uıƃuɐɥ ʇsnɾ Millennium Member

:thumbsup: You've already got the best start possible, a great attitude and a willingness to do whatever it takes, good on ya. Now just start banging on doors.

Southeast is mostly seasonal, lots of Glacier Bay sightseeing for the tourons off the cruise ships. If you start early, say March or April, the operators are just starting to ramp up for summer.

Another option is flying to the villages out of Bethel it's a total armpit, but there's lots of flying year round, the Eskimo's gotta have their soda pop, don't cha know.

And the third, possibly best, option that I'm familiar with is getting on flying right seat in a King Air or 1900 out of Fairbanks. After a winter or two in a 207 you will REALLY appreciate bleed air heat. It's a thing of beauty. :hearts: Also, it may be easiest to get hired since you don't have 500 hours yet.

If at all possible before you head up there get 10 hours or so of T&G's in both a 207 and a Cherokee 6. Those two are the work horses and most likely what you'll be starting out in. Make every take off and landing a soft field with a power off approach and always taxi with the prop out of the weeds.