Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
365 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First let me say, I am far from an expert on sights, or really anything guns. I enjoy shooting and now enjoy working on my Glocks. I hope to take a GSSF armory course in the near future. I've used the Glock 19 OEM Gen 4 sights for 4-5 years now. We have two 19s actually, one for me and one for my wife. I bought the TFX for me and the I-Dot for her, but you know how those things can go. Since changing the sights on a couple of my rifles, I have now ventured into the pistol realm. I used a ncstar-vism-universal-rear-sight-tool, a Skinner 3 sided file, and an Ameriglo front sight tool for installation. A dot of blue locktite was used on the front sight screws, but I later learned I may not have waited long enough for it to cure before securing it to the sight. I can fix it if I have to. Both 19s are held together in a cushioned vise.

IMG_1582.jpg
The Ameriglo is on the left and stayed in that position for all photographs. Neither Glock was in the mood for smiling. You can see with overhead lighting the rear fiber optics are much brighter--that's what they are designed to be. I suspect on a bright day on the range, or elsewhere, the sight picture will be striking. The single dot on the Ameriglo rear sight, does have tritium (both do) and in a later image taken in the dark you will see it.

IMG_1579.jpg

Note the square rear opening on the Ameriglo and the curved, more narrow bottom on the TFX (right). The blue tool on the left, sitting on a former yoga mat, is
IMG_1578.jpg

You can see the TFX (top) sight radius is about a 1/2" shorter. Also, note the angle on the muzzle end of the rear TFX sights are designed to better accommodate a one handed slide pull.

IMG_1586.jpg