close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

American Medical Response

Discussion in 'Firefighter/EMS Talk' started by Joey, Feb 25, 2006.

1. Joey

Joey Millennium Member

Anybody ever work for them??

I've been a EMT-B for 4 years on the VFD & am thinking about trying to get a job with them & see where things go if they take care of there people and don't crap all over ya.

2. TerraMedicX

TerraMedicX

The problem with your question is that AMR is corporate. Therefore, AMR in WY is gonna be different from AMR in other places. For instance, I wouldn't be caught dead working for AMR in Denver, but AMR in Colorado Springs is actually pretty good from what I understand. The one advantage to the corporate structure is that AMR has LOTS of resources, so you'll probably get payed better than most other private ambulance services (but not as well as a good public utility or FD based).

Nate.

3. Victory

Victory

Are your local guys unionized?

4. TerraMedicX

TerraMedicX

*ROFL* Is that a joke? ;z

As far as I know, fire departments are the only unionized EMS providers in Colorado.

Nate.

5. Victory

Victory

Well, i don't know about colorado, but it seems most EMS services in this country lack union representation.

That's too bad since it would probably make it a better profession to work in. Think, people actually getting paid what they deserve and having protection against the tons of lawsuits that get fired at EMS every day.

6. Charlie Fox

Charlie Fox

Out here AMR is huge - in Seattle they pretty much have transports locked up. They pay OK, not great, and still post their cars in different locations instaed of havibng stations. If you're working Seattle you won't be bored, but some areas are slower than others. No unions and WA is a "Right to Work" state - either party can terminate a relationship for whatever reason. I know a lot of guys and gals that work/worked for them and they said it was a good job. :cool: Good luck!

7. gloxter