Featured Am I wrong for not wanting a .40??

Discussion in 'Caliber Corner' started by Bigpatallo, Oct 28, 2015.

Tags:
  1. Yes

252 vote(s)
    55.3%
  2. No

204 vote(s)
    44.7%
  1. Bigpatallo

Bigpatallo

I'll try to make this short, I've read lots of posts on the basic firearms that everybody should own.. ,

The list can be as small as "Combat Rifle, Long Range Rifle, 12 Gauge Shotgun, and Combat Pistol" Or it could include "Compact pistol, Revolver in Magnum, rifle in .22, and pistol in .22".
    In my collection I one of each and doubled up to cover some extra calibers. So I have a combat rifle in 5.56 and 7.62x39 , and my Pistols in 9mm, .45 , And as of this Monday I finally found a .357 Magnum I liked enough to purchase.

I like that I arguably have a firearm for any SHTF event I should be able to find ammo that at least ONE of my guns will shoot. Except I don't have a .40Cal. Considering that they are easy to find cheap (LEO Trade in G22 $350ish), should I just buck up and get one when I have the money? or can I let that one slide by? I feel like there could be a random day where .40 Cal is available but 9mm or ,45 is not because of some shortage or whatever reason.

I guess this comes down to.. is .40 useless with everything else I have?

2. Chop Suey

Chop Suey

Personally I dont want a .40 cal. But theres absolutely no reason for anyone to avoid that round.

3. tager

tager

Afternoon Bigpatallo

The .40 is a fine round & will give good service.

2 points about the .40--

1)- when the gun store ammo shelf's are mostly bare I have always been able to find the .40 rounds (.40 gives you another option if ammo is scarce)

2)- it is so easy to buy a 9mm or 357 sig barrel & convert the Glock .40 to either so you basically have 3 possible guns in one.

bigsteve113, 9jeeps, mdell49 and 13 others like this.
  4. tom mac

tom mac

I like guns that shoot multiple type rounds, makes practice cheaper too
    357 and 38
    10mm and 40s&w
    44 mag and 44 spl