close

Privacy guaranteed - Your email is not shared with anyone.

Alphabetizing using XP

Discussion in 'Tech Talk' started by Generalcarry, Aug 28, 2005.

  1. Generalcarry

    Generalcarry NRA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Michigan
    I have one problem (amidst many) that has been taking up way too much time, for way too many years. I’m using XP and in Microsoft Word I made my own frequently called numbers phone book. Making two columns of numbers was a challenge I kind of worked around, but I’ve been trying to alphabetize those names and numbers for months. I seem to remember an ABC logo but I don’t think it was is XP.
    Any help would be appreciated.
     
  2. Clyde

    Clyde Lost in KY Millennium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 1999
    Messages:
    549
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    KY
    Cut and Past to Microsoft Excel sort

    Cut and Past back to word
     

  3. Generalcarry

    Generalcarry NRA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Michigan
    That figures, a couple years ago Norton caused so many problems I had to reformate my hard drive. Since I have NEVER used Microsoft Excel, I never bothered to install it. There has got to be a way to do it in Word, isn't there?
     
  4. nickg

    nickg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    try this and see if it works.

    take your list

    go to "table"

    go to "sort"

    in the "sort text" box you'll see "sort by"

    then click on the appropriate box entries

    then click on either "ascending" or "descending"

    should work hopefully
     
  5. Generalcarry

    Generalcarry NRA Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    Michigan
    NickG,
    I'm getting close. It's sorting the phone numbers from < or > but not the names. The names are all over the page. I am SO BAD at using word, I can only guess that somewhere along the line, when I was trying to make 2 columns, I messed up. I was using arrows, enter, and the space bar and whatever to make a "clean looking" facade.
    You got me close, lets see if I can sort this out. I'll let you know.
    Thanks...
     
  6. SavageDragon

    SavageDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2003
    Messages:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Charlotte NC
    Open a new Word Doc, go to Table, insert, table. Make it one column nand however many rows you need. Copy your entire list in the old Doc, then highlight the table on the new Doc, and right click and paste. Then go to table sort, sort column one by text.

    Make sure the names and numbers are in the same column.
     
  7. nickg

    nickg

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2002
    Messages:
    640
    Likes Received:
    0
    if you are sorting phone numbers try this:

    highlight your phone list

    go to table

    sort

    sort text

    Sort by: "Field 1"

    Type: "Number"

    ascending/descending