Advice

Discussion in 'Through-the-Lens Club' started by Peace Frog, Feb 19, 2007.

1. Peace Frog

Peace Frog ...............

Thought I'd post this where people actually know what they are doing.

I'm new to all this but would like to know the best digital calera to buy.I like to take wildlife,people and landscape photos.
    I'm looking to spend no more than $2500 on a starter kit.

Thanks!:)

2. MrsKitty

MrsKitty

Do you want a point and shoot or a dSLR?

Do you already own a film SLR? What lenses do you have? Some can be used with dSLRs.

How much are you prepared to spend on lenses if you go with the dSLR? (Trust me: you will want more and more and more...)

How much of a background do you have with photography? I knew nothing two years ago. Today, I can't get my hands on enough books/websites/materials in my quest to perfect my skills.

For $2500 you can buy a really nice kit with either Nikon or Canon. Look at the lenses and see which mount you prefer. You won't go wrong with either but you will be locked into one of the two after buying.

For that kind of variety in shots, you will want a few lenses. Most people prefer a wide angle (10-20mm or even shorter, especially if used on a crop body) for landscapes. You will need a longer lens (200mm or longer) for a lot of animals. A lot of people prefer primes (50mm, 85mm, 135mm) for portraits.