Advice for Newbie re Misfeeds and Shooting Techniques

Discussion in 'General Glocking' started by JRD, Mar 20, 2010.

1. JRD

JRD

I'm a newbie to Glock and to this forum. Just tried out my new G19 with mixed results, running a box of CCI Blazer ammo through it. I prepped it before shooting per the owner's manual instructions.

Several misfeeds on the first magazine which I attributed to faulty loading technique as the problem diminished with the second and third magazines. Accuracy (5" paper plate at 25') was good on the first mag but lousy on the second and third mags. I don't think it was limp wristing as I've not had that problem with revolvers and .22 semi-autos, but it's possible.

My questions -- Could improper loading of the magazine have caused the misfeeds? Can you advise or direct me to a good source of information on proper magazine loading and pistol shooting techniques? Other comments or advice that may be helpful?

Thanks, JRD

2. jchadscud

jchadscud

Had similar results with my brand new Gen 4 G17 on my first trip
    to the range. No FTE's but several misfeeds across all 3 brand new magazines. I completely blame the new shooter and not the equipment, but I'm interested in what you guys have to say to JRD and new shooters in general.

3. Scared_of_zombies

Scared_of_zombies

Thats not the best ammo. Also "slap" the back of the mag to seat all the bullets at the back of the mag before you load it into the gun. Also glocks dont function well to "limp wristing" aka a weak grip especially with new springs.

4. bentbiker

bentbiker

In a similar thread, a member posted a pretty thorough list of suggested videos:

5. firedawg60

firedawg60

6. mboylan

mboylan

Proper magazine loading? If the magazine wasn't clicked in, it wouldn't work. Your problem is related to your grip and the low power ammunition you are using combined with a really stiff recoil spring.