Glock Forum - GlockTalk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is NOT intended to produce an exact powder charge that you will use without a scale. I often do precision reloading & target shooting & will NOT expect any kind of powder scoop to deliver the exact load I need. Instead, I use this crude but efficient tool that I made just to get me within a couple of grains of a required powder charge, and then I use my trickler and a scale to finish up. This scoop is adjustable, and you only need set the powder charge size that you need just once with a ruler, and it keeps that charge weight until you've finished all the handloading. Because I'm a hobbyist who builds R/C airplanes and already had the supplies on hand, it cost me nothing to make. But the components aren't going to cost you but a few $bucks anyway.

IMG_2006.JPG

If you're a hobbyist like me and enjoy making things, this is quick project for you. It's light, cheap to make, and easy to use. The charge is adjustable and the dipper will get in & out of any size can opening while reaching the bottom easy.

IMG_2008.JPG
IMG_2010.JPG

Photo below; Of course you can always pen some calibration marks over the length of the wood dowel, but I choose to simply place a ruler against it. I need only set it once initially, (and for this example) it stays at 6 3/8" to give me the 18.7gr loads for my .221 Fireball. I always use a trickler & scale to get the final precise charge.
IMG_2011.JPG

Bottom photo; There's basically just 2 components to it. If you need big charges for large cartridges, then file open a longer slot, or I suppose you can always buy a larger K&S tube and use a 3/8" or 1/2" wood dowel. Then you can have a small capacity dipper and a large one depending on whether you're loading a 9mm, or a 45/70. The red pen line also tells me at a glance which side of the dipper that the open slot is on, so I hold the dipper slot facing up.

IMG_2012.JPG